Feeling all the Feels #Humbled

Posted: February 7, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

humbled.jpgI get humbled a lot. In my job I am reminded almost daily how much I take for granted in life. How much I don’t say thank you for. How much i think I deserve…even though I don’t. See, I think I deserve a bed, a blanket, a room to keep my things in, shoes to walk in, clothes to wear, at least some food to eat each day. But that’s just not true. I don’t deserve those things… sure, as humans we should have those things, but why do I think I deserve them when I know other people don’t get them.

IMG_3075.JPGTonight I was humbled above and beyond the normal recognition of my greed. Today I was given a gift from a homeless man. It doesn’t sound that crazy, I mean, I have lots of homeless friends and I’ve gotten gifts from them before because many are the most generous people I know, but today was different. Today I got a gift from a man I’d been arguing with earlier in the week because he came in demanding things and I wasn’t going to have any of that attitude. We have as few rules as possible in our shelter, but we still have some and when you start making exceptions things tend to go bad quickly. So we argued. I stood my ground. He threatened to leave. I said ok. I was kind of hoping he would. But we kept talking and he calmed down and we ended up having a decent conversation.

IMG_3078We were cautious around each other the next time we were both there, but over the past couple days we’ve continued to talk. He asked if I could dry his shirt in our laundry, I asked questions about his past and his future. He’s still needy, demanding, and can be on your nerves in a heartbeat, but he is so much more than that. He is a human. He is in a tough place. He has a lot going on. He is created in the image of God. He has a reason to be alive. And he probably thinks he deserves all the same things I think I deserve…only he can’t take them for granted anymore. When someone gave this guy money today, he bought me candy. I can’t say it’s the best use of his cash, but I can say it makes me wonder what I’d do if I found a $5 on the ground. I think it’s time to restart a gratitude list, because I don’t want to take life for granted. I don’t want to be needy and demanding. I want to notice all the gifts I’m given each day. Things, breath, light, joy…wonderful, God given gifts! I also want to challenge you…take a minute. Stop. Breath. Think. And be thankful.

 

 

Comments
  1. Gramma Nancy says:

    Thank you Shelby for your thought provoking reminders. This world would be a better place if everyone was that grateful.

Leave a Reply

