Word of the Year 2016

Posted: January 18, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

I’ve been doing “Word of the Year” for 6 years now. It is just a thing some of us do to kind of help us keep our focus. For me it’s picking a word to focus on between just me and God. Last year, my word was overcome. Before that it was greater – 2014, I also had intentional – 2013, pursue – 2012, and delight – 2011.

For 2016 my word is true.

This word seems less wowing to me than some of my former words, but I’m excited for it none the less. In a culture where ‘you do you’ is something I hear and say often, I want to remember that I shouldn’t always do things my way. That sometimes there is a right and wrong way. I want to stay true to my beliefs and ideas and not settle for something easier. I want to speak truth in love and overcome the lies and assumptions that become prevalent so quickly and easily. I think that though this word is simple, it will keep me on my toes, because staying true, isn’t easy, but it’s my goal.

Comments
  1. Michael Caraway says:

    Thanks Shelb. This is a great reminder for me as well.

    I picked a word this year as well….and I still remember it… “gratitude”. I’m reminding myself of how much I have to be thankful for and being intentional in expressing gratitude. I’m thankful for you Shelby. You inspire me as you connect with the people around you and share Jesus’ love.

    I’m proud of you!

    Love, -dad

  2. Lynn Caraway says:

    Great word, Shelb. I copied one of your old ones and picked DELIGHT this year. I want to delight in the Lord, and also in my hub and family, and the Tanzanian people. Too often I’m rather short in my responses rather than delighted! Love you and see you soon, Mom On Jan 18, 2016 7:27 AM, “americanmissionaryshelby” wrote:

    > shelbyatcalvary posted: ” I’ve been doing “Word of the Year” for 6 years > now. It is just a thing some of us do to kind of help us keep our focus. > For me it’s picking a word to focus on between just me and God. Last year, > my word was overcome. Before that it was greater – ” >

  3. Gramma Nancy saltministries@aol. Comsal says:

    A worthy goal. Lv U

Leave a Reply

