I Don’t Know How to Tell You

Posted: March 12, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I wish I could only tell you the happy things. I usually tell the stories with happy endings, or at least the happy parts of stories, but what about the days that leave me in tears? What about the really hard stuff.

The problem with helping is that in order to help you have to know. And knowing hurts.

Just the other day I spoke to four people who don’t have money to pay for heat. So they are cold. I spoke to a woman who cried as she told me she would have a glass of water for dinner because she was out of food and money and didn’t have any more food stamps. I spoke to another woman who called and said that her grandkids had been staying with her and so she had run out of food – normally she can live on what the food bank gives her, but because she had extra hungry mouths, she ran out. I heard about cancer, and sickness, and loss. That was all on one day just in the office.

Later that week, as the chaplain in jail, I heard about more. I heard fear, questioning and wonder. I heard women talk about their kids, husbands, boyfriends, parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws and even one’s unborn baby. Who they can no longer care for, protect, and help. It’s so scary to be in a situation where everything is out of your control.

It’s hard to know all these things. But I also know that God cares and loves all these people. He sees them as the people they are, and not for the problems the are stuck in, or the problems they have caused. By knowing about these things I can help. Just this week I was able to pray with people and tell them, “It’s worth it,” “hang on,” “keep fighting through,” “don’t give up.” I was able to help coordinate rides to the doctor, get some food delivered, and get people connected with a team who can help to provide heat.

Not everyone I meet gets the help they need, but it’s worth knowing the needs are out there so we can keep fighting to provide the solutions. Jesus was a problem solver, but He didn’t just take away all the world’s problems. He shared God with people. That’s what we should do too. As we meet the physical needs that we can, we should also be loving people with Jesus love. Because ultimately, He is the one who can bring healing to their souls. Look at the people around you, one or many of them may be in serious need, and just not know how to tell you.

Comments
  1. jen4him says:

    I needed this today. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

