Year in Review

Posted: January 2, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

My dear friend Sara is a pretty inspiring friend. She generally has a smile and a crazy idea and pushes others to be continuously bettering themselves or celebrating things that give life to others or make opportunities for people who otherwise wouldn’t have them. This year she is far away, but she still sends out things like the “Year in Review” for us to do from a distance. This year, I printed it out and took it to jail and shared it with my new friends there. I won’t share all of their answers, but I will highlight a few key things they said. Please remember this is not one person, but several women’s answers combined with any personal details removed…


Things that 2014 taught me:

1. That people can be really mean.

2. I never knew people could be so cruel.

3. That there are so many flaws in our system.

4. I can change.


Personally significant events/highlights of 2014:

1. Meeting Jesus.


Things I want to do in 2015:

1. Get out of jail!!

2. See my family.

3. Stay clean.

4. Get rehab.

5. Find a church family.

Things I don’t want to do in 2015:

1. Drugs.

2. Start using again.

3. Go back to jail.

What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before?

Go to jail.

Did you travel anywhere special or significant?

“I think it would be so cool to travel when I get out of here.”

What would you like to have in  2015 that you lacked in 2014?

Well, one thing I do have is Jesus.

What date from 2014 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Many dates of incarceration, car accidents, births, deaths were listed here.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

It wasn’t coming to jail…

What do you wish you’d done more of?

I wish I’d spent time with my family after my mom died instead of turning back to drugs.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Drugs.

Using.

Drinking.

What have been some spiritual themes that God has taught you in 2014?

Perseverance.

Patience.

Forgiveness.

He loves me.

What would be your One Prayer for 2015?

To stay clean.

To be able to see my parents before they die.

To get a fair sentence.

To help others not get stuck in what I did.

Leave a Reply

