Where’s the good in goodbye?

Posted: October 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“I’ll see ya next year!” he says as I hug and kiss him goodbye. “I can’t wait,” I reply, holding back the tears. We hope it’s next year, but we don’t really know when. We don’t have a plan, a date or tickets. We say goodbye and I walk away. I hear him call out, “Hey Shelb!” so I turn around to wave, and from that security line in the airport he calls out, “I’m gonna blow you a kiss!” He sends one my way, and I catch it in the air and put it on my cheek. Willing it to last until next year. The goodbyes suck, but the joy in the times we have together make it worth it. Knowing he’s growing up in the same place I did makes it worth it. He runs around in the same field. Has the same monkey bars in the living room that our dad built. Helps take care of other sweet momma-less babies like the ones I used to carry around. It’s hard to be so far, but it’s worth it. And twice in year 8 was pretty special. I can’t wait to see what he’s like in year 9. One of us is going to have to plan a trip across the pond. Thanks for visiting Mom and Bu! Hug Baba for me when you get home! All my love!

us and flags

Comments
  1. Beautiful, Shelby. I feel your heart!

  2. Mom says:

    Love you baby girl!

Leave a Reply

