Nothing Left to Give

Posted: September 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

Sometimes I see giving a hug to someone who is hurting as a last resort. If I can’t stop the problem, fix the problem, help them avoid the problem… then I give them a hug. But I think I have that twisted. It’s not my job to make problems go away. Sure, if I have the resources to help someone I should. And if I know the solution to their problem I should tell them. But so often when we are hurting there isn’t an easy fix. I can’t make death stop. I can’t rebuild someone’s broken relationships. I can’t find everyone a job. I can’t fill the shoes of a lost child. I can’t pay everyone’s rent. But I can offer a hug. I can listen. I can feel compassion. I see Jesus do that lots in the New Testament. He noticed when people were hurting. He had compassion on them. He touched them – even when they were unclean. And He had the power to make them well. 

When He saw the crowds, He had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.” Matt 9:36  “Jesus had compassion on them and touched their eyes…” Matt 20:34  “Filled with compassion, Jesus reached out His hand and touched the man. ‘I am willing,’ He said. ‘Be clean!’” Mark 1:41  “When the Lord saw her, His heart went out to her and He said, ‘Don’t cry.’” Luke 7:13

I want to notice people who are hurting. Have compassion. Touch them. Give them a hug. And lead them to Jesus – who has the power to make them well. “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” Matt 5:4 I may not have what it takes to comfort them, but Jesus always does. 

Comments
  1. tegs says:

    Really like this Shelbs.

Leave a Reply

