When Duct Tape Can’t Fix It.

Posted: July 20, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I see a lot of broken things.
And a lot of broken people.

Growing up in Africa gave me a unique perspective in how to fix things.
Like Duct Tape, if done correctly, can hold almost any two things together.
Or a wire, is a magical tool that you can force into almost any shape and size you need.

This week one of the things on my to-do list was to make a meal for a family in my church. I was working on doing that and I needed to melt something in the microwave, and halfway through the melting process the microwave died. At this point I didn’t want to transfer it from the microwave safe bowl, to a pan I could put on the stove, and it wasn’t melted enough to use, so I went and found my hairdryer (I knew it would come in handy one day!) and finished the melting.

photo-21

Unfortunately not all broken things are as easy to find a way around as our microwave. People heal, but it takes a long time. This week I hung out with a boy who is in and out of homelessness as well as jail. He has some very real struggles in his life, and one thing that breaks my heart is that I don’t see him being wanted anywhere. Maybe that’s because he hasn’t been given a chance, maybe it’s because he’s already burned all his bridges… All I know is that Jesus came for the broken. He loved the unlovable. And he offers a new life to all of us. He doesn’t just give us a bandaid, He gives us new life. No one is too far gone. Will you remember that the next time you are around someone you’d rather not be around? Will you remember it when you pass someone who seems like a lost cause? Don’t give up on people, love them well and tell them about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

