Not a Coincidence

Posted: June 4, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I often hear people say, “When it rains it pours”, but I feel like in my life I can say something like, “When God speaks, He yells”. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that God is scary. And this isn’t to say that God yells at me. Just that He knows how to make sure He is heard and gets His point across – even through my thick skull. Here’s the latest…

I was able to take a Saturday morning off and attend a prayer retreat at my church. During the prayer retreat there is a time of worship through music, a speaker, time to go off by yourself and reflect, and then time to come back as a group and discuss things. 

During the alone time I went to weed the common garden that we have (because why not multitask if I was going to sit outside anyway) and as I was weeding the onions I noticed that the thing I was pulling the most of was grass. Then I started thinking about how much time, money, and energy people put into having nice grass. We are willing to work to keep it nice and we want grass for kids to play on. Grass is a really good thing. BUT when it is growing in the onion bed, it is a really bad thing that is draining the nutrients from the soil and making it harder for our onions to grow. This stated a little more clearly is that good things in the wrong place or time are not good.

Then I started reflecting on my life. There are a lot of good things in it. I have a lot of good ideas of things to work on and get started in my ministry. But I need to be willing to let go of good things, if it is not the time and place that God has for them. So I began praying that God would be very clear about what good things to pursue and which good things to wait for the proper time and place on. 

That same day I had a conversation with someone who is already involved in prison ministry. She is willing to share some advice with me. 

A couple days later in a meeting someone referred to Hebrews 13:3 “Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering.”

The next day I got an email from the jail inviting me to a meeting and to develop a partnership working on re-entry stuff to help people who get out of jail to stay out. 

Today 5 of my local friends who had been to jail before are back in jail. Clearly, we need a better re-entry plan.

I would say in the garden of my life, this is the area to be focusing on right now. I will keep trusting God to lead the way He always does! I appreciate all of your prayers and support! I am hopeful to be able to work full time in this ministry by the fall and still need to raise several hundred dollars of monthly support before that dream becomes a reality. I would love for you to consider joining my team of financial supporters! I will gladly give you the information needed to get started with that if you’re interested! Just let me know!

Comments
  1. Nice post. Feel free to share your posts, updates, tips, reviews, or products on Godinterest (the Pinterest for Christians)

Leave a Reply

