The Most Expensive Gift Comes in the Smallest Box

Posted: March 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

 

This week I was blown away by generosity. When it comes to raising support it is really a never ending process. I am still a bit behind in what I need to raise this month and then it keeps going up in the months following as I work to become a full time employee. But today’s post is not to talk about how much further I need to come. But about the generosity of an 8 year old – in so many more ways than one.

My baby brother Luka, has chosen to join my team and be one of my financial supporters. He is supporting me $2 a month. I am so excited to have him on my team and giving probably about 20% of his ‘income’ to my work here in Pennsylvania. He is an inspiration to me to keep giving to those in need around me!

Image

September 2012

But finances are not the only way this sweet boy is supporting me. He prays for me every day. And he also teaches me how to love well and bless those that I come into contact with. This precious boy has countless times cared for and loved on the orphans who come into our home.

Image

Luka pushing Katalina, a beautiful little girl with cerebral palsy, in her swing.

 

Image

Luka holding sweet little Witness while she lived with my family.

Sometimes it seems hard to remember that God works in mysterious ways, and that He provides in sometimes great and sometimes small packages. So I continue to look to God and trust Him to provide. After all, this is His work, not mine. And I also want to share how thankful I am for all of my supporters! I’m sorry you don’t all get a blog dedicated to you, but I couldn’t do this without you and I am so thankful for what you give! Luka’s story and many others remind me of the story of Jesus in Mark 12:41-44…

“Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny. Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything – all she had to live on.”

Leave a Reply

