When There’s a Will, There’s a Way

Posted: February 18, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Today I got to try something new…I don’t know if I would say it’s been something on my dreamed up to-do list for long…or ever…but desperate times call for desperate measures. I’m just kidding, but let me fill you in. 

I am loving working with Calvary Church. So far I have been involved in several different ways, but a big part has been within the homeless community. I won’t tell you all their stories today, because they aren’t mine to tell, but I will tell you that their hugs are priceless. That when I walk over and greet them by name and their faces light up it makes my day. When we eat delicious girl scout cookies that someone donated to the drop in shelter I don’t know who is happier, but I’m pretty sure it’s me! I love being able to love people. It is hard to watch people in difficult circumstances, but it is encouraging to see some people working hard to look for jobs and trying to get their life back to ‘normal’ – whatever that may be.

I’m still working on figuring out my ‘normal’. I continue to spend a lot of time raising support. But today I decided that I would also try to supplement some of that need until it is provided through supporters. I went to Biolife and donated plasma for the first time in my life today. It was an adventure. I am not going to lie, I was scared! The funniest part was when the nurse asked me all these questions before hand and he asked if I had ever fainted. I said yes. He asked why? I told him…from getting a shot. =) He looked at me like I was crazy for a second and then I assured him I was young when it happened and that I wouldn’t pass out on him today! (I myself was not actually sure I would make it through without passing out, but it was worth trying) Eventually I did make it through the whole process! I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite pass time in the whole world, but it’s worth it to be able to continue doing what I love! 

Comments
  1. Joe Guerra says:

    Yes! I’m thinking of starting to sell my blood too 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

