The Truth About Home

Posted: February 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

The Truth About Home

“For this world is not our home; we are looking forward to our city in heaven, which is yet to come. With Jesus’ help, let us continually offer our sacrifice of praise to God by proclaiming the glory of his name. Don’t forget to do good and to share what you have with those in need, for such sacrifices are very pleasing to God.” Hebrews 13:14-16 NLT

Tomorrow I head home to Pennsylvania. Truth be told leaving Michigan is really hard. It was home for several years of my life. The state itself isn’t so hard to leave, but the people are. I have dear friends here. Tanzania is what I picture as home if I hear the word. It was home for several years of my life. The country is hard to leave, but the people are harder. I have dear friends there. As I leave Michigan, my parents and brother leave Michigan for Tanzania, and my sister stays. It’s hard being all spread apart. But then I remember we’ve done it before, and we can do it again. I remember that the world is not our home, and if we believed it was we would not be spread out the way we are. The reason we are so far apart is that we are trying to share with those who have not heard or understood that our home is in Heaven and theirs can be too. It hurts to be apart, but it is worth it. So please keep me in your prayers as I make the jump from one ‘fishbowl’ to another tomorrow and drive from Michigan to Pennsylvania.

Leave a Reply

